Monday, December 31, 2012


The 15+ year mystery that surrounds the band Manpig has finally been unveiled. Reportedly originally recorded back in the mid 90's, only for the masters to be literally lost by the recording studio, this LP, "The Grand Negative" presents new(ish) versions of the original songs, rerecorded sporadically throughout the noughties. Released just in the last few weeks by Deep 6 Records, I am unsure of the pressing details, but you can see my copy came on red and black splatter. Artwork by Rohan Harrison. Comprised of two central characters; Matt Domino on guitars and vocals, and RD Davies on drums, you could certainly be forgiven for possibly mistaking this music for new Infest or Low Threat Profile material. Matt's vocals have a surprisingly similar feel to those of Denunzio and the recording qualities more or less mirror both of the LTP releases so far. Obviously the music has that stark speedcore feel that later Infest and LTP rely so heavily on too. This isn't powerviolence. After so much intrigue and excitement for such a long time, I'd argue that it's a bit of a stretch to state that this album really lives up to all of the hype it's managed to develop, but with that said, it's still a very good release, and better than the LTP LP, thank fuck.


Across Your Face said...

Damn that is some BRUTAL art work. Awesome!

Dustin said...

I dig this LP a good bit. Will be posting about it soon I'm sure. Can I ask why you didn't like the LTP LP? I thought it was great.


Someone please rip the Manpig lp, and post a download ! Pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaasssssssseeeeee !
Someone actually didn't like the LTP - lp, damn, that lp is killer ! So is the new Yacopsae/To The Point - split ! Ripping good !!!!!